Announcing the 2024-2025 DeBakey Scholars

May 6, 2024
2024-2025 DeBakey Scholars

Top row:  Lawrence Edmond, Katrina Nguyen, Ruth Mercer, Isabelle Russo, Emma Nicell, Carlos Alvarado-Richter.  Bottom row:  Jessica James, Emma Fraga, Hannah Yi, Mallory Abbott, Aron Basurto, Abigail Hills, Madilyn Johnson.  Not pictured:  Nia Spilotro  

The Michael E. DeBakey, Selma DeBakey, and Lois DeBakey Endowed Scholarship Fund in Medical Humanities was established in 2009 by the DeBakey Medical Foundation of Houston, Texas in memory of Dr. Michael E. DeBakey and in honor of Professors Selma and Lois DeBakey. This endowed scholarship assists deserving junior or senior students who are majoring in medical humanities. DeBakey Scholars have unique opportunities for small group interactions with faculty, local health care professionals, and campus speakers. In addition, students are awarded a $10,000 scholarship for the academic year. In receiving the scholarship, students are to act as custodians of the DeBakey legacy: as continuing agents of the foundation’s vision for the place of the humanities in medicine who uphold a standard of personal excellence.